[Letter of 1873 August 20]


digital facsimile
digital facsimile


[Letter of 1873 August 20]




Husband and wife
African Americans -- Health and hygiene
Door-to-door selling


Anderson, Caroline Still, 1848-1911 [recipient]






This material is made available for private study, scholarship, and research use. For access to the original letter, or high-resolution reproduction, please contact the Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection (blockson@temple.edu; 215-204-6632).


Temple University Libraries, Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection

Digital Collection

William Still Collection
Blockson manuscripts
William Still Collection

Digital Publisher

Philadelphia, PA: Temple University Libraries





Document Content

Newark Aug. 20th 1873/ My Dear Carrie:/ Your very/ welcome letter came/ safely to hand this/ morning and I am/ pleased to say finds me/ in pretty good health./No[x?] my dear I don’t/ know but that I/ tought [sic]or should take/ your advice in reference/ to remaining at home/ when I come - while/ there is nothing that/ I take more pleasure in/ than canvassing - nothing/ I think that I could/ make more money at/ in a short time. Yet/ there are other consid=/ erations which should not/ be over looked - but/ which I am sorry/ to say, that I have/ thus far been over/ looking. My health,/ at best, is not any/ too good - I must admit/ and this continual un=/ [derminding?] one’s con=/ stitution must nec=/essarily cause it to/ fail this I feel and/ yet I would like to/ see the sale of the/ book succeed as it/ is father’s. Were it not/ his (as I have often/ told him) I would/ not think of canv/assing. To make a/ long story short if/ you don’t want me/ to go away this winter./ I don’t think I/ ought to do it as/ I have been away/ from you the most/ of six months. I/ will however think/ over the matter and/ write father in/ reference to laying/ over for the winter/ when I come home./ It is not because I/ want to stop can=/vassing for I believe/ I would rather do/ that, than not at/ present. I am so/ easily effected by the/ change of water [xxx?]/ The fare from here to/ Phila is three $(3) dollars./ Mr. Johns is having/ vacation for the summer./ We are having a great/ deal of rain - which/ has something to do/ with my work. Thus/ far I have done quite/ well. Please remember me/ to Miss Maggie and also/ to Mr. Jones & family./ My love to the/ family. Much [to?]/ love to Carrie,/ Mother and Willie./ Write soon — From/ Your devoted husband/ Edward A Wiley./ P.S. I also received/ Mr. C. Anderson’s letter/ and Mr. Carr’s./ Yours E. A. W./