[Letter of 1872 July 18]


digital facsimile
digital facsimile


[Letter of 1872 July 18]




Long-distance relationships
African American families
Husband and wife
Door-to-door selling


Anderson, Caroline Still, 1848-1911 [recipient]






This material is made available for private study, scholarship, and research use. For access to the original letter, or high-resolution reproduction, please contact the Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection (blockson@temple.edu; 215-204-6632).


Temple University Libraries, Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection

Digital Collection

William Still Collection
Blockson manuscripts
William Still Collection

Digital Publisher

Philadelphia, PA: Temple University Libraries





Document Content

Philadelphia, July 18 1872/ My Dear Carrie/ You may im/ agine my joy at hearing/ from you so soon— I/ had begun to feel lonely/ not with standing[sic] I saw you/ a few days since. I was/ very glad to hear that you/ all were in good health/ If I were able I would like/ to have you come down next/ week and spend the week with/ me— but even if you could/ come— Willie I fear- would keep/ you from [enjoying?] yourself./ Never mind stay at home and/ be a good girl and keep your/ nose clean & when we get rich/ (if nothing happen) we will have/ a good time at these watering/ places. Are you going out to Uncle Sam[pces?] next week?/ How do you and Ellie get/ along with Willie [nights?]/ Tell Ellie I have not had/ any one[sic] to play with since/ I left home. I am quite/ well pleased at Mrs Palmer’s/ she gives me all I want to/ eat— Tell Georgia she doesn’t/ know how to cook and if she/ want to learn come to Cape May/ I do injoy[sic] this nice sea/ brease[sic] so much— If stay long/ enough I don’t but that I/ shall will be so fa[t?]you won’t/ know me. I have been really/ thinking of making this place/ my home— how would you/ like to live here— say/ you have a training store and/ I have a coal yard— I spend/ my evening very nicely with/ Mrs Smith & Miss Ellen/ Davis. I some times[sic] call on/ Mrs [Daisy?] & Daughter & also Miss Francis/ Now about the book. I must say/ that I came too soon to do much/ the greatest draw back[sic] is the/ the want of many among those/ whome[sic] I expected to sell to- I/ didn’t know that Cape May/ was Democratick until I/ came here— I have quite a/ number of [spates?] with them/ since I came here. Had I/ time to want on the men/ I believe I could sell the/ book very read ly[sic]— I wrote/ father the other day to know/ what he would do under the/ circumstances. Had I come/ down about the later part of/ August I think I would have/ done much better. After all/ I believe one can do more/ with one at home than a/ way. You go to them say—I/ have a very interesting book/ I would like to show you/ Oh! it is too [hot?] to read./ One has a very good opportunity/ to learn about people & what/ they think about the Colored/ man and especially the/ Democrats— Mrs Palmer wishes to be remembered to/ you all Give my love to all/ and keep much of it for/ you & Willie. Write me as soon as you/ get this— as I am very/ anxious to hear from you/ kiss Willie for me -/ Your Affectionate husband/ E Wiley/ [Direct?] as before/