[Letter of 1884 February 12]


digital facsimile
digital facsimile


[Letter of 1884 February 12]




Work and family
African American physicians
African Americans -- 19th century


Anderson, Caroline Still, 1848-1911 [recipient]






This material is made available for private study, scholarship, and research use. For access to the original letter or high-resolution reproduction, please contact the Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection (blockson@temple.edu; 215-204-6632).


Temple University Libraries, Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection

Digital Collection

William Still Collection
Blockson manuscripts
William Still Collection

Digital Publisher

Philadelphia, PA: Temple University Libraries





Document Content

[Greencastle?] Feb 12th 1884/ Mrs Cary. V. Anderson/ My Dear friend,/ Your kind letter/ was carefuly read,/ and contents noted,/ I was glad to here/ that you and all/ was well and enjoying/ good helth. As this/ leaves us at present,/ you tel hve[?] that you/ have two Weamans work/ on your hands. I know/ you must be very bu-/ sy, having your pr[xxxx?]/ and your house to at-/ tend, and look after./ I hope you have a Good/ Girl at this time./ I think I must move/ down and keep house/ for you. I am glad/ that you have such/ a good baby. I hope/ that she is quite/ helthy. I am glad/ that Lilly is getting/ along well & hope/ she has stoped that/ throwing up, it may/ be that she is giving/ you a greate deal/ of trouble when you/ have so much to att-/ end to. I suppose/ Matthew is getting/ along nicely with/ his church and house/ I suppose you will/ move in the spring/ to another part of the/ city/ Lilly did not let us/ know what nice thing/ that she received during/ the holodays she did/ not let us know what/ she received./ We have plenty/ of room here at this/ time the [selors?] in/ town are full of wa/ ter. The children are/ quite well and going/ to chool regular all/ the time. They all/ send there love to/ you and all, my/ Love to you and/ all./ Yours,/ Norma [A?]nderson/