[Letter of 1873 August 6]


digital facsimile
digital facsimile


[Letter of 1873 August 6]




Husband and wife
African American families
Door-to-door selling


Anderson, Caroline Still, 1848-1911 [recipient]






This material is made available for private study, scholarship, and research use. For access to the original letter, or high-resolution reproduction, please contact the Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection (blockson@temple.edu; 215-204-6632).


Temple University Libraries, Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection

Digital Collection

William Still Collection
Blockson manuscripts
William Still Collection

Digital Publisher

Philadelphia, PA: Temple University Libraries





Document Content

N Port, R I Aug. 6 th ,,73/ My Dear Carrie/ As I wrote/ you on Friday and have/ not heard from you/ as yet—I thought I would/ drop you a line this/ morning. My dear your/ very welcome letter has/ just come and I/ am pleased to say finds/ me in good health./ I have just come/ from bathing and got/ my dinner and as I am/ anxious to hear from/ you as often as possible/ I must write immed/=iately. I have been/ in bathing twice since/ I came and feel that/ I am being benefited/ a great deal by it./ I have a very pleas=/ant boarding place/ at $8.50 per week- if I/ stay four weeks- if not/ ten $10, per week. So you see,/ it is costing me/ something to stay here./ I am thinking as/ New Port has been/ [canvassed?] of staying/ only two weeks. That is/ if my health continues/ to improve and then/ come home—get ready/ and go to Baltimore,/ and take a general=/ Agency—set up an/ office and let you/ attend to it while/ I canvass. In this/ way my dear you can/ be of some service/ to me.- Beside that/ it will be just what/ you want- You must/ not allow yourself to feel/ low spirited because you/ are not doing what/ you would like to do./ I think all will come/ out well in the end./ I [meet?] Mr. Dungee/ since I came here/ and had a very/ pleasant time with/ him. He and I took a/ boat ride over to Nar=/ragansett Pier and I/ came very near being/ sea sick. On the/ whole I have had/ thus far a very nice/ time in New Port./ The Rev. Mr Vanhorne/ and myself went in/ bathing yesterday to/gether./ I led the prayer/ meeting for him last/ evening. I wrote father/ to the Effect that there/ have been two agents here./ So I thought I would/ sell what copies I had/ on hand and then/ think of another field./ Please give my love/ to all the family./ Much love for your/ mother and Willie/ Also many kisses./ I am your devoted/ husband/ E.A. Wiley/ Care of Mr. I. Elias 40 Levin St./